Compiled BASIC ?

Discussion in 'Programmer's Corner' started by djsfantasi, Sep 1, 2013.

1. djsfantasi

Thread Starter AAC Fanatic!

Apr 11, 2010
    I was wondering about getting into micro controllers. I have extensive programming experience, but strangely am most comfortable with BASIC.
    I can also script in Windows or Linux, debug Java or C, design, code, and test.

I have an existing BASIC program that runs on a PC that I would like to port to a micro controller. Is there a mcu/IDE combo for BASIC that I could research?

2. sirch2

Jan 21, 2013
  3. blueroomelectronics

AAC Fanatic!

Jul 22, 2007
    An 18F series PIC and Swordfish BASIC would be much more flexible and far faster than the BASIC Stamp.

4. ErnieM

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 24, 2011
    Oshonsoft makes several Basic compilers for various PIC series. For personal use their price is quite reasonable.

I used one of these while back for code generation and found it quite good, far above the PIC Basic Compiler at a much higher price.

I never used the simulator much but it has one that seemed to work well

5. absf

Dec 29, 2010
    I use "Pic Basic Pro" on microchip and "BASCOM" on Atmel family chips.

Depending on the nature of your program that you're porting. Was it something with display and UART interfacing?

6. djsfantasi

Apr 11, 2010
    No display (except text for debugging; not necessary. can debug on PC). Heavy serial comms usage, though. The irony is that the program is the run time for a tokenized language I created for a custom application.

7. djsfantasi

Apr 11, 2010
    Your comments and a quick read through of the oshensoft manual. Are their libraries for timing events or playing Wav fils available in any of these suggestions?

Last edited: Sep 1, 2013
  8. ErnieM

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 24, 2011