Common emitter negative feedback

Saviour Muscat

Joined Sep 19, 2014
Hello
I am 29 year old man working as a maintenance technician, currently I am studying electronics to enrich my knowledge to open new doors in the future. I am certain that here you will give me the help I need,

My difficulty is understanding the principle of operation and how does it work the negative feedback (emitter resistor with out capacitor) of a common emitter amplifier. I tried on the web several search attempts but didn't
fully understood the text.

What I understood was that when the collector current increases the voltage across the emitter resistance increases and this change in voltage opposes the fixed voltage supplied by the potential divider circuit and the base emitter voltage decrease(Vbe= Vb -Ve) therefore the collector current decreases and the output remains stable under all conditions as temperature ,supply variation and ac input voltages variations .

What I need is that someone corrects what I understood or otherwise confirm that my thoughts are correct.

Thank you and good wishes

SM

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Yes, your understanding appears to be basically correct. In general, negative feedback feeds back part of the signal to the input to stabilize the gain and/or operating point of the circuit. The idea is the make the circuit operation dependent upon the feedback element values (which can be quite stable) instead of the transistor gain, which is quite variable.

Note that the degree of stability that negative feedback gives is determined by the amount of feedback. The more feedback, the greater the stability (the trade-off is that the circuit gain decreases in proportion to the amount of feedback).