Common Emiter-Emitter Follower to speaker

Joanna91

Joined Jun 18, 2012
Hello =) I am new to Electronics and i'm struggling with this exercise, I hope somebody can help~

http://tinypic.com/r/2j5c1l4/6

It reads: the Common Emitter has Voltage gain 20 without external load. a)Calculate the voltage gain when the common emitter leads to a 8Ω resistance speaker (left circuit)
b)Calculate the voltage gain with a common collector betwen the common emmiter and a speaker (right circuit)
Va=inf, b=100, I1=5mA

I tried the first one, and I came up with a 17,7 Voltage gain. If the CE has a Voltage Gain of 20=> uo/ui=20 <=> (-gm*ub*Rc)/(ib*uπ)=20 (1)

We want to calculate A'=uo/ui=(-gm*ub*(Rc//8))/(ib*uπ) (2)

(1)/(2) A'=17,7. I am not sure if it's correct so I would love some advice.

I'm stumped about the second part, mostly because I'm not sure what to do with the current source.

Thanks in advance for your time!

Last edited:

Jony130

Joined Feb 17, 2009
If the voltage gain Av is equal 20 for no load resistor.
And this means that re is equal to

Av = Rc/re

re = Rc/Av = 1K/20 = 50Ω

re = 1/gm

And now if we connect the load resistor RL = 8Ω the voltage gain will drop to:

Av = (Rc||RL)/re ≈ RL/re ≈ 0.16V/V

But if we use the emitter follower as a buffer the voltage gain will drop to

Av = (Rc||Rin)/re

where Rin ≈ (β+1)*(Rsp + re2) = 101*(8Ω + 5.2Ω)≈ 1.34kΩ

Av = Av = (Rc||Rin)/re = (1KΩ||1.34KΩ)/50Ω ≈ 572.6Ω/50Ω = 11.4V/V

Last edited:

Joanna91

Joined Jun 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your answer! If you would be as kind to answer some questions, since I'm a huge noob xD How does the Av = Rc/re equation come up?

Thanks again!

Last edited:

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your answer! If you would be as kind to answer some questions, since I'm a huge noob xD How does the Av = Rc/re equation come up?

Thanks again!
To address that well, it is very helpful to understand what tools are already in your toolbox.