Common-collector confusion

halfgaar

Joined May 15, 2011
Hi,

I'm studying the common collector configuration explained on the site. I'm confused about the current gain of the circuit.

Let's take the image from the article:

I don't understand why there is any current gain at all. I mean, when you connect a load to Vout (node 0 and 3), the Rload is effectively decreased. Doesn't this proportionally increase base current?

If Vin=5V and the new load impedance (Rload2) is 10R, base current would be 0.5A. And because the voltage over the output load, in this case Rload2, is always 4.3V, how can the current through Rload2 be anything else than 0.5A, equaling base current?

Adjuster

Joined Dec 26, 2010
Hi,

I'm studying the common collector configuration explained on the site. I'm confused about the current gain of the circuit.

Let's take the image from the article:

I don't understand why there is any current gain at all. I mean, when you connect a load to Vout (node 0 and 3), the Rload is effectively decreased. Doesn't this proportionally increase base current?

If Vin=5V and the new load impedance (Rload2) is 10R, base current would be 0.5A. And because the voltage over the output load, in this case Rload2, is always 4.3V, how can the current through Rload2 be anything else than 0.5A, equaling base current?
Most of the emitter current actually comes from the collector, and only a small fraction comes from the base.

Suppose Rload2 draws 0.5A, and we have a transistor with current gain β = 50.

Ic = β * Ib, and Ie = (β + 1) * Ib, so Ib = Ie/(β + 1). The increase in base current will be 0.5A/51, just under 10mA.

halfgaar

Joined May 15, 2011
Most of the emitter current actually comes from the collector, and only a small fraction comes from the base.
I guess that's where I'm lost.

I drew in the new load I was talking about:

circuit.png

Without the red load, it seems to me base current would be:

\(
I=\frac{V}{R} = \frac{4.7}{5000} = 0.00094A
\)