Common base Colpitts oscillator

Saviour Muscat

Joined Sep 19, 2014
Hello members and guests
I am studying a common base Colpitts oscillator, I encounter some difficulties, please someone give a hand
a) Why the tank circuit is not loaded at high frequency(common base have low input impedance)?
b)In this type of circuit what is the use of RF choke?

Jony130

Joined Feb 17, 2009
Last edited:

Saviour Muscat

Joined Sep 19, 2014
a)please refer to the figure attached fig 22-11b, why the text says that c1 and c2 are in series if they are grounded in between?
b)what is the function of rf choke in fig 22-13?
c)again refer to fig 22-11b, in the previous intervention, you said in words that the amplifier is not loaded because at the input R3 is parallel with C2 ,Am I correct? and I didn't understood well the quoted "Also LC tank circuit "see" rin as a larger resistance thanks to "capacitive transformer action"".
I tried to study the links but they little hard for me learn them
thanks
sm

Attachments

Brownout

Joined Jan 10, 2012
a)please refer to the figure attached fig 22-11b, why the text says that c1 and c2 are in series if they are grounded in between?
Draw another ground just below the one shown in the diagram. Now, break the line between the two grounds. Since that line only connected two grounds, breaking it won't change the circuit. Now, redraw the tank with C1 on the left side, connected through L1 to C2 on the right side. Now can you see why they are in series?

Isolation of RF from DC power.

c)again refer to fig 22-11b, in the previous intervention, you said in words that the amplifier is not loaded because at the input R3 is parallel with C2 ,Am I correct? and I didn't understood well the quoted "Also LC tank circuit "see" rin as a larger resistance thanks to "capacitive transformer action"".
Why do you think the tank is not loaded?

Jony130

Joined Feb 17, 2009
why the text says that c1 and c2 are in series if they are grounded in between?