Commission Project

bvanpelt

Joined Dec 2, 2013
Hello ;

I'm looking to commission a project from someone. I do not know electronics and do not have the capability or tools. I am looking for a circuit to power some small dc motors for an art project.

Power 3 motors
turn on and of at random intervals.
speed at random patterens.

I am an artist , and would like to do this before Christmas. This will be for a train display. I can be reached via <SNIP> This would be a paid project.

Thanks Brian

I will check here for replys.
Below are the type of motors

Attachments

Last edited by a moderator:

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
You probably should remove your e-mail address from your post. Otherwise, bots will harvest it for the spammers.

elec_mech

Joined Nov 12, 2008
Welcome to AAC.

Listen to WBahn, remove your e-mail ASAP, lest you get flooded with spam.

I think I can help.

I'd suggest discussing your project here so others might learn and contribute which will likely yield a better solution. If you decide to move forward and have me build it, we can work out payment for parts and labor through PM (private message).

To that end, I would suggest using a microcontroller. I can program it to output a PWM (pulse width modulation) signal to some MOSFET's which will cause the motors to vary in speed. Timing will also be handled by the microcontroller. Once the program is written, I can show you how to easily reprogram the chip to change the timing or speed variations in the future if you so choose.

If instead you want a purely hardware solution where you can change the speed and timing manually, it can be done, but it will require more parts, time, and cost.

If you would prefer to keep this private, simply send me a PM.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012