Combining work and studies

JerryNa

Joined Feb 15, 2010
Hello.
I'm an EE student at my third year, and also work in a company who develops hardware and communication devices.

The subjects I need to learn for my job are so not related to the courses I study, and the issue is that it really decreases my motivation to make an effort to understand the material of each course.

For example, in my job I deal with so many communication protocols, which studies provided me with no background about them.

Its just frustrating me to keep studying just to get the diploma and the engineer title.
I feel like the studies are detaining me instead of advancing me.

Am I wrong with my approach?
I'd like to hear your comments on it.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
You may not always have this job, and as someone who doesn't have an advanced degree I gotta tell you it is needed. Without it you will always be a low level employee, with it you can go where you want, R&D, management, whatever. Life isn't fair, but the rules are pretty spelled out.

JerryNa

Joined Feb 15, 2010
You are right that the degree is very important.

However, why do I feel that it conributes me nothing but an engineer title?
Am I just not understanding the courses well enough to see how useful the knowledge they offer is?

For example, last semester I took a course called transmission lines and microwaves.
On the last days I had to test several antennas to see which would bring best results.
I didnt gain anything from taking this course, and all I did was just soldering several antennas and seeing which gives the widest reception range.

So I just dont get it, how did this course help me?

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
There's no way four years of schooling can give you all the skills you'll need for a job. A good education does at least a couple of things:

1. Teaches you how to teach yourself.