College Project help.

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Donny84, Nov 10, 2013.

1. Donny84

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 6, 2013
    Hi all,
    I'm currently in my final year of an electrical engineering course in college.
    I have a project to do, but I'm struggling to come up with ideas that aren't basic like a water/light detector or a smoke alarm, etc.
    I have to come up with a PCB that would have some sort of use in industry.
    I wanted to do something that involved a PCB and a PLC but since my college doesn't provide anything mechanical such as robotic arms are conveyor belts, it's a bit difficult to include a PLC.
    I have a budget of £25 which is provided by the college.

Can anyone suggest some ideas as I'm really struggling to come up with any and time is running out :(

Last edited: Nov 10, 2013
  2. strantor

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 3, 2010
    An old-timey looking analog movement meter that reads in 0-100% chance of rain for the day. Gets its signal from the internet, from national weather service.

3. R!f@@

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 2, 2009
    Small budget, huh!

How about a solar battery/cell phone charger

4. bountyhunter

Sep 7, 2009
    A frequency spectrum analyzer that can mute a set of headphones when it detects the higher frequency content range associated with a female voice.

Every married man on earth would buy one.

just kidding, dear....

shortbus and DerStrom8 like this.
  5. KL7AJ

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 4, 2008
    How about an ACCURATE inductance bridge? I"m always looking for one of these!

ERic

6. DerStrom8

Feb 20, 2011
    How about an ESR meter? Extremely useful devices, used to measure the equivalent series resistance of electrolytic capacitors.

7. raphaelriv29

Nov 4, 2013