CNC thread - have at it!

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by SgtWookie, May 9, 2008.

1. SgtWookie

Thread Starter Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    This is a purely CNC-oriented thread that I started because quite frankly, I am interested in it, and have been most seriously considering building one to help me do things like make PCB's.

I probably even have enough raw material around here to make one. What's stopping me? Lack of focus is the most likely gremlin; a hazard of hanging out at places like this, I suppose. I've been doing fits and starts on this thing for a few years.

So, let's get down to business, and git 'er done. :D

I have a couple of pairs of bipolar steppers, and a whole boatload of unipolar steppers. The bipolar steppers have higher resolution than the unipolars, and are much more robust.

Time for brainstorming ;)

2. hgmjr

Jan 28, 2005
    You may bed able to pick up some tips on things to consider from this PART-ONE of a THREE-PART article on "build-you-own" cnc machine.

hgmjr

3. hgmjr

Jan 28, 2005
    The question is which choice is the more precise, move the "tool" or move the "work".

hgmjr

4. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    I would vote for moving the work. The bed can run on a flat, solid surface, and the milling head can be very rigidly mounted. Once you have the plane of the bed set, it should be adjustment-free (except for the zero-zero reference point).

5. hgmjr

Jan 28, 2005
    I would tend to agree Bill. I suspect that moving the "work" would be the better choice since that entails moving the lower mass. Tools are generally heavy and require the management of the power cord and on/off control cable.

This approach would also permit anchoring the tool solidly so that it would form a stable reference during the milling operation.

hgmjr

6. SgtWookie

Thread Starter Expert

Jul 17, 2007