CNC Breakout Board as First Project

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by ttjarrett, Apr 27, 2011.

1. ttjarrett

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 12, 2011
    Hi All,

I am new to the forum and almost a complete electronics novice. I have been interested in electronics for a while now, and decided the best way to learn is by jumping in and getting my hands dirty.:)

The first major project I am trying to design and build is a breakout board for my CNC router. This board is to provide buffered outputs and non-buffered inputs to/from my computer through the Parallel Port (DB25) to communicate with stepper motor controllers, proximity sensors, etc. I have been using a purchased board on my CNC for around 6 months, but would like some different features. I'm definitely reinventing the wheel with this project, but hopefully I can learn a lot along the way!:D

The first part of the design I am tackling is isolating the proximity sensors I want to use from the rest of the board using optocouplers. These sensors will be used as home and limit switches for the machine, require 12-24vdc, and are NC. I have attached a schematic of how I understand the basic circuit of this opto-isolation should work, and would appreciate some critique.

In the schematic, Pin 13 relates to Pin 13 of the Parallel Port and SW1 and SW2 represent two NC proximity sensors in series. In my understanding, R1 should be acting as a pull-down resistor for Pin 13, R2 as a current limiting resistor to Pin 13, and R3 as a current limiter to the optocoupler. Am I correct?

Opto: Data Sheet

PRT08-2DC Sensors: Data Sheet

Any comments would be much appreciated. I am fully expecting to make a lot of obvious and grievous errors during this project, so please do not hesitate to point these out.

Thanks,

Toby

2. Rbeckett

Sep 3, 2010