Class C and AM - Are they compatible?

jamesinnewcastle

Joined Nov 5, 2009
Hi

My first post and I am not experienced in RF at all - please be gentle!

Trying to understand how a Class C RF amplifier can produce an AM signal!

As I understand so far the Class C RF amplifier will only faithfully 'reproduce' the top 'bit' of the input waveform (always shown as a sine wave I notice). The next bit of the explanation then details how this 'top bit' causes a tuned load to 'resonate' thereby restoring the signal. Like striking a bell.

OK so you reconsitute a sine wave. Got that. Great if you just want a sine wave, say for morse code. BUT where does the modulation envelope of say my voice come into it?

If you modulate the amplitude of the 'top bit' with a voice signal you surely have simply reproduced a Class A Amplifier!

My question has resulted from a heated 'discussion' where I work as one party concludes that a Class C power amp cannot be used to boost a CB radio as it can't pass AM signals.

Can anyone shed any light?

James

wr8y

Joined Sep 16, 2008
My question has resulted from a heated 'discussion' where I work as one party concludes that a Class C power amp cannot be used to boost a CB radio as it can't pass AM signals.
Correct. USING a Class C amp to "boost" an AM or SSB transmission is not going to work.

However, MODULATING a class C amp is another discussion.

I hate it when I see a thread like this JUST as I am headed out on a service call...

wr8y

Joined Sep 16, 2008
Hi

As I understand so far the Class C RF amplifier will only faithfully 'reproduce' the top 'bit' of the input waveform (always shown as a sine wave I notice). The next bit of the explanation then details how this 'top bit' causes a tuned load to 'resonate' thereby restoring the signal. Like striking a bell.

*snip*

James
You might have fun reading this:
http://www.w8ji.com/Vacuum_tube_amps.htm