Class B audio amplifier: Can I run it with a wallwort?

Romes

Joined Sep 30, 2014
Howdey guys and gals,
I built the circuit in the lesson Volume 6 Experiments and since I am new to building circuitry I waned to know what, if any, modifications would be needed to run this badboy off of a wall wort with a regulator and filter circuit. I was thinking a 12v 500ma?

Thanks in advance for anyhelp.

-Romes

Joined Nov 30, 2010
No can do unless you create a, "fake" ground at the middle of a 12 volt supply and use that for the ground symbols at the inputs of the two op-amps. Both of them require very little current, so you can just use 2 resistors and a capacitor to make the voltage at the middle hold still. Say...10k ohms each with a 10 uf capacitor connected to the most negative voltage of the wall wart.

Got it?

Romes

Joined Sep 30, 2014
Thanks for the quick reply, let me draw up what I think you mean and post it for you to review, about ten minuets.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
No can do unless you create a, "fake" ground at the middle of a 12 volt supply and use that for the ground symbols at the inputs of the two op-amps. Both of them require very little current, so you can just use 2 resistors and a capacitor to make the voltage at the middle hold still. Say...10k ohms each with a 10 uf capacitor connected to the most negative voltage of the wall wart.
You forgot about the speaker ground, which takes a lot of current. For that a common solution is to use a large capacitor in series with the amp output to the speaker. A 1000uF cap will give a -3dB rolloff at 20Hz with an 8 ohm speaker. Connect the plus terminal of the cap to the amp output.

And you need a 24V supply, not a 12V supply unless you want about a factor of four reduction in the maximum output power.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Haha, got to love spellcheck, anywho, I was thinking, what if I used a transformer and a rectifier to make a +12/-12?