Circuits: trying to understand when to use parallel or series

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by vgamesx1, Apr 1, 2015.

1. vgamesx1

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 1, 2015
    Alright silly question... I'm planning on making a solar powered fan for a greenhouse, pretty simple right?
    Well since I already have several little cheap case fans thought I might as well use those, although one might not be enough, so if I were to add more, how should it be wired? or.. should I not even bother and look for a slightly more pre-done solution such as a fan splitter?
    I'm not very experienced so would appreciate some suggestions, also while I don't need help finding a solar panel, if you know of any you could recommend that might make searching easier for me, Thanks and here's a diagram of what I mean below.

2. Reloadron

Jan 15, 2015
    Case fans as in PC case fans? You have made no mention of what voltage or current the fans will be? What solar panel did you have in mind for this? You need a panel capable of supplying the required current for your fans and you need to have a total number of fans with data sheets specifications.

Ron

3. Hypatia's Protege

Distinguished Member

Mar 1, 2015
    Two points:

1) Due to 'load lability' series connection of fans is not advisable...
    2) The viability of parallel connection is 'down to' PS parameters...

Best regards
    HP

4. MikeML

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 2, 2009
    How many fans you can run depends on your panel.

Most of those PC fans run on 12Vdc. It would take a panel that has a direct-sun no-load output voltage of ~17V to properly run the fans.

Do you have an adjustable DC power supply so that you can do some testing on your fans?

5. vgamesx1

Apr 1, 2015
    Yes PC fans, the usual 12v ones and they typically run off a mere 0.1-0.2 amps, so nearly any panel that supplies 12v should work. (times x fans of course..)

6. vgamesx1

Apr 1, 2015