Circuit won't turn off

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by TexasBluesGuitar, Feb 27, 2015.

1. TexasBluesGuitar

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 27, 2015
    Hello all, I am a newbie to electronics and circuits, but am a professional programmer. I have dove into the IoT and am now learning all about circuits. So here is a question related to a real life situation. I tried to change the light bulb in my bathroom. The light bulb is in the middle of an 8 bulb above mirror fixture. I left the power on while I was changing the bulb. During the change as I was screwing it in a massive spark happened and the bulb failed to turn on. Now the dimmer switch cannot turn off. It does not work and the lights have been on all night. This time I am going to shut the power off to the house and change the bulb, but I think the switch is broken. What do you all think?

Texas Blues Guitar

2. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    How many professional programmers does it take to change a light bulb?

Nul.

It is a hardware problem.

3. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    When you unscrewed the light bulb with the power on, it caused a short circuit across the contacts. All eight bulbs are wired in parallel powered by the light dimmer. The thyristor in the dimmer is blown, failed short.

You can replace the thyristor with Q4006.

planeguy67 likes this.
  4. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    I can see the Triac being shorted, but these types usually have the on/off sw also?
    Max.

5. TexasBluesGuitar

Feb 27, 2015
    Awesome Mr. Chips. Now I just need to figure out what a thyristor is and how to replace it :)
    thanks,
    TBG

6. TexasBluesGuitar

Feb 27, 2015
    It is a leviton HCM06 x10 dimmer. I have to press the dimmer in to turn it off and on.

TBG

7. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    I think you should turn off the appropriate circuit breaker, not all of them, and have an electrician come take a look.