Circuit to turn a momentary pushbutton into a latched on/off toggle

TheRogue

Joined Aug 28, 2012
Hi guys, this is my first post so first off an introduction. I live in Vancouver, BC, Canada and I work as a network engineer and computer teacher, but in my free time I have been working to set up a computer museum for many years now. Now, here's why I am posting.

I am building a tower case for my Atari STe, and the case I have chosen to use is an ATX case, and as such has a momentary pushbutton as a power switch. I am going to modify an ATX power supply to drive the STe, but an ATX power supply requires a pin on the ATX connector to be latched to ground to turn the power supply on, and opened to turn it off. So I am looking to build a simple circuit to connect to the power button, the on/off line, ground, and the +5v trickle line from the atx supply so that when I push the power button the power on line is latched to ground to power up the system and when I push it again the connection is broken and the supply shuts down. I know this can be done simply, but I'm a little rusty with my low level logic. Can someone help me out with this? Thanks guys!

TheRogue

Joined Aug 28, 2012
Thanks for the welcome Bill! This circuit looks to be like what I am looking for but I think it can't be used as is without modification. I think that in this circuit the 555 drives the LEDs directly whereas with what I am doing I want the pushbutton to connect a separate line to ground and disconnect it with another push, not just feed +5 to a particular device, so I think (unless I am totally off) that I will have to modify it. Am I totally off here? If not how should I modify it to my needs?

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
A simple transistor, either a logic level MOSFET or a BJT (regular transistor) will make a good on/off switch.

Modification by any other name is designing. :D

TheRogue

Joined Aug 28, 2012