circuit to listen to microphone signal

craftindo

Joined Jan 25, 2015
hi anyone,
I am a newbie in electronics.
I have several questions:

1. i bought this microphone circuit from ebay. And, how can i listen to the voice / sound?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-Electro...crophone-Mic-Module-for-Arduino-/200964723455

2. I use MC34072, and try several circuits: differential amplifier, and non-inverting amplifier, with several different gains, with and without capacitor in input & output, i also try LM 386, but i can't hear any sound. However, if i blow hard to the microphone, i can then hear the sound but not sentences / voice, why?

3. does it matter which op-amp i use?
4. does it have to go through pre-amp followed by amp?
5. is that ok, if i feed that microphone signal directly into amplifier circuit as sold in ebay?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/291337551133
6. does it make a difference of the amplifier circuit based on electret microphone or condensor microphone?

craftindo

Joined Jan 25, 2015
I think what you bought just puts out a pulse when it hears something.
Look at one like this instead.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Adafruit-El...=US_Pro_Audio_Microphones&hash=item27efe80d70
Ronv,
Thanks for the advice. That's what i am looking for actually.

But, what I bought before is just a pure microphone with resistor & capacitor. So, that's why I have to solve my own amplifier in order to listen to the sound from an headphone.
I am also interested to design my own amplifier / pre-amp for the headphone if you have any advice. (what's wrong with my circuit? why i can't make it work with my own pre-amp circuit)

thanks

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
It looks like it is wired up as a sound sensor rather than a microphone to actually understand anything. It is intended to be connected to an Arduino or Lego brick and will send a high output when sound is sensed.

craftindo

Joined Jan 25, 2015