Circuit help

oidium45

Joined Apr 24, 2010
I am thinking about setting up this circuit but have a few questions. It is a bit more complicated then the circuit that I originally intended to use.

They may seem simple questions but I am a still rookie here.
1. What is the -10 on Q1 and Q2. Does that mean that I will have two -10v supplies?
2. Can someone recommend a resistor rating or part number for Rsc? Is a "current sense resistor" the same as a "current shunt resistor"?
3. Do I have to use electrolytic caps for the 0.1uF and 10uF or is there a better option?

Attachments

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
They may seem simple questions but I am a still rookie here.
At some point, everyone was a rookie ;)
1. What is the -10 on Q1 and Q2. Does that mean that I will have two -10v supplies?
Nope. Those two points can be considered to both be connected to -10v.

2. Can someone recommend a resistor rating or part number for Rsc? Is a "current sense resistor" the same as a "current shunt resistor"?
Current sense resistor. You should really look in the datasheets for the LM117/LM317. There are example schematics and much more detailed information in there. National Semiconductor has a good datasheet on the LM117/LM317.
3. Do I have to use electrolytic caps for the 1uF and 10uF or is there a better option?
For the 1uF, use metallized poly caps or ceramics. You might use tantalum caps, but they tend to explode every once in awhile. I've never had a ceramic or metal poly cap explode on me.

The idea is that the 1uF cap is placed as close as possible to the regulator to "swamp" any tendencies for it to oscillate.

oidium45

Joined Apr 24, 2010
Yes, there is good information and schematics on the data sheets. I pulled this schematic from the the link below. Figure 22.
http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheet2/a/0s922lq6p7gwsc2hhzx6z4e3pl3y.pdf