Circuit help

wolf08

Joined Dec 14, 2009
Hi Im new to circuits and there really interesting. i have been trying to make an amp using an LM386N ic. There is a web site on how to make an Amplifier with Gain = 200 (page 5) " http://web.mit.edu/6.115/www/datasheets/LM386.pdf ". I have some questions on what some of the stuff is in the circuit ( the symbols). The first is,
1.Vcc means pos power in right?
2.what does Vs mean and where does my input go from my ipod or radio.
3.does it matter what lead i use from the audio jack if its positive or negitive.
4.What does it mean when it shows vs connected to a 10k resistor then to ground with an arrow pointing to the middle of it?

Please help! im really frustrated i have already fried my ipod!:confused::mad:

Last edited:

VoodooMojo

Joined Nov 28, 2009
Vcc -- For TTL circuitry, this is the + volts which sits on the collector of the bi-polar transistor output circuit.
Vs -- Supply Voltage. on the LM386N1 it is 4 volts min, 12 volts max
LM386N4 it is 5 volt min, 18 volt max
as the datasheet states. Pin 6 in either case.

That is Vin with the resistor w/arrow to ground. Not VS. This is a 10K potentiometer. Volume control.
Vin is where the imput comes in from the audio source.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
You want to make the amplifier with a gain of only 20 for a radio or ipod input. The gain of 200 is for sources that have a very low output level like a mcrophone.

boriz

Joined Jul 16, 2009
Look at the top of this webpage. Most of the information you seek is provided there.

Vcc used to mean ‘voltage to the collector’ in 5v TTL circuits, but is commonly misused to mean ‘positive voltage source’. Equivalent to +VE on the battery.

Vs means roughly the same thing.