Circuit for Combining heating elements and separate motor?

Shannanigans

Joined Nov 9, 2014
Hi I'm new here and very lost when it comes to circuits. Im in my 4th year of mechanical engineering at uni, but from our circuits classes I've never taken away anything practical. I understand quite a bit of theory and can use a breadboard, but when it comes to designing something practical and implementing it I have no clue where to start. So I'm looking for help please!

My group for a machine design project doesnt really have a clue about how to design our circuit - so Im trying to learn. We're making an automatic snowboard waxing machine that essentially heats up the wax, dispenses it over the base of the board, and follows with a scraper that presses the liquid wax into the cracks and scrapes off excess. For heating, we have four hot plates taken from two hair straighteners. Both have a little circuit with them that has an on-off switch and a temperature control dial and a little LED for when its on, the circuit connects the two hot plates. The group wants the waxer to move across the board using a motor (the waxer is suspended over the board on tracks - gears meshed with a timing belt basically).

One group member said: 'If you want to write out the circuitry: There's one motor, and 2 straightening irons (I have a second one for the other side). The straightening irons should use the 4 heating pads with a control unit out of one of the straighteners and we also need to find a switch for the motor. Both the motor and heating portion should be in independent of one another, meaning that you should be able to turn on only the motor or only the heating unit.'

Then he tasked me and another girl with trying to make the circuit by wednesday which is when our next progress report is due... but neither of us have any idea how to start! We have access to a circuits lab, circuit software, and can play around with a breadboard.

Can anyone help us with this?

MaxHeadRoom