Circuit design for power cut help.....

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by edliu, Feb 23, 2011.

1. edliu

Thread Starter New Member

Feb 22, 2011
    Hi All,

I have designed a circuit that takes in power from a battery pack. (~51V and nominal operating voltage is 48V). I have to step down to 27V @ 4A, 5V @ 6A, 24V and lastly 48V.

I have attached a design of my circuits. I used two 5V regulators and connect them in parallel with the output connected in series to get the max combined current, a 28V regulator and did a voltage divider to get 27V and then using a transistor to increase the current. To get 48V, i just did a parallel connection to the battt pack. Please see attached PDF.

As I am new to such designing of circuits, i will appreciate help and advise. Please kindly see my circuit and advise how I can improve it.

http://www.mediafire.com/file/u18fu6xzuplc2s3/Sheet1.pdf

Please advise! Thanks....

2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    You should attach the PDF file to your original post. Edit your post, use the "Go Advanced" and "Manage Attachments" buttons, then select the file to upload from your computer.

You show the 48v battery connected with the negative terminal on the top. When drawing schematics, it is preferred to have more positive voltages towards the top of the schematic, and more negative voltages towards the bottom.

C2's lower terminal is not connected.

If you meant for the battery to be connected with the negative terminal on top, then everything to the right of IC "TEN 100" has their power/ground terminals reversed.

If you meant for the battery to be connected with the positive terminal on top, then IC "TEN 100" has its' Vin- and Vin+ terminals reversed.

Datasheet for the Traco Power TEP 100-4816:
    http://www.tracopower.com/fileadmin/medien/dokumente/pdf/datasheets/tep100.pdf