Choosing the right cpu

Discussion in 'Embedded Systems and Microcontrollers' started by gvi70000, Jun 5, 2011.

1. gvi70000

Thread Starter Active Member

Oct 4, 2009
    Hello,

Some time ago i've started to build my own remote control for my DSLR camera and until now i came up with two solutions:
    1. The cheap one http://www.grozeaion.com/electronic...-wired-remote-control-for-digital-camera.html
    2. A Touch Shield Slide http://www.grozeaion.com/electronic.../125-gvi-dslr-rc-with-touch-shield-slide.html

Now, for my next variant i want to have:
    1. Camera will be controlled by USB;
    2. The remote will receive from camera thumbnails images for preview;
    3. Wireless control : a central unit that will receive data from sensors and will send data to the camera.

As i am still new to this field i need help in choosing a cpu fast enough to transmit/ receive small images, but in the same time i will need guidance, so the programming and hardware for this cpu must have a support forum.

Any one can suggest me a micro-controller that can do these things?

Thank you

2. GetDeviceInfo

Jun 7, 2009
    Not sure I'd be concerned as much on speed, but rather on integration. Are you planning on communicating with PIMA commands to the camera, then you'd probably want USB hosting capabilities. Are you configuring your controller as a device to the PC, than either OTG or seperate controller.

What is your choosen wireless method and will you be attemping real time thumbnail previewing.

The act of transmitting USB thumbnail image data from camera to your wireless peripheral could be handled by most micros. The limiting speed will likely be your camera, the USB specification, or wireless method being applied.

PS; a more descriptive subject title may help solicate a larger knowledge base.

3. gvi70000

Oct 4, 2009
    Hi,