Choosing microcontroller programmer

Hawkeye123

Joined Dec 21, 2010
I need help in choosing a microcontroller programmer. I'm very new to this type of work. My project is to display an ECG signal on an LCD screen. So I basically need to have the LCD function as an oscilloscope. I plan to base my design off of this project:

http://www.serasidis.gr/circuits/AVR_oscilloscope/avr_oscilloscope.htm

The microcontroller he uses is the PIC18F2550. I'm wondering, what is the best method of programming the chip? I only need the programmer for this project and I don't think I will use it after this. I will appreciate any help I can get. Thanks!

hgmjr

Joined Jan 28, 2005
I need help in choosing a microcontroller programmer. I'm very new to this type of work. My project is to display an ECG signal on an LCD screen. So I basically need to have the LCD function as an oscilloscope. I plan to base my design off of this project:

http://www.serasidis.gr/circuits/AVR_oscilloscope/avr_oscilloscope.htm

The microcontroller he uses is the PIC18F2550. I'm wondering, what is the best method of programming the chip? I only need the programmer for this project and I don't think I will use it after this. I will appreciate any help I can get. Thanks!
If you look closer at the board you will see that the oscope project is based on the ATMEL ATMEGA32 rather than a PIC. The project designer neglected to include an in-system programming header. That means that the device will need to be removed from the socket and plugged into something like a solderless breadboard to program it.

The AVRISP MKII is a very flexible AVR programmer. It allows you to program the ATMEGA32 over a USB port. You will need to download AVRSTUDIO4 (which is free) from the Atmel Website to program the device using the AVRISP MKII. You can purchase the programmer from Digikey for around $35. It can program pretty much every device in Atmel's 8-bit AVR family.

hgmjr

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009