Choke vx transformer ??

RichardsHam

Joined Jun 19, 2013
I am a ham radio operator teaching myself as much about elctronics as I can as a hobby. A dispute has come up with one of my friends:

Is a choke a form or type of transformer?

I thought so, but my friend says not. He says:

"A choke impedes alternating current (which includes RF),
and a transformer induces it onto the secondary winding.

How can two things that work so differently
be the same?"

I SAY IT IS A TRANSFORMER... JUST A DIFFERENT TYPE which uses induction to choke common mode current.

Context / Application = We are both ham radio operators and use 1:1 "balun" chokes to tame common mode noise on transmission lines, among other things, and I say a 1:1 feed line choke is a form of transformer, but he says not. These are usually wound on ferrite toroid cores or (occasionally) made with clamp on ferrite beads.

Can you settle the argument?

Thank you for your courtesy. Happy days - James - K8JHR -

Dodgydave

Joined Jun 22, 2012
A Choke is designed to have a high Reactance at a particular frequency, where as a Transformer is designed to conduct a magnetic flux to induce a voltage in the secondary windings.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
The Wiki on baluns shows a perfect example of a balun used as a transformer. If I may quote Wikipedia, underlining what I think is important,

"Generally a balun consists of two wires (primary and secondary) and a toroid core: it converts the electrical energy of the primary wire into a magnetic field. Depending on how the secondary wire is done, the magnetic field is converted back to an electric field.

This clearly says a balun is a transformer, and the point that caught my attention is that one-winding thing called an auto-transformer. A transformer does not need two windings to be a transformer, it needs to do a conversion using a magnetic field.