Chip ID In Dual Shift Reg/Darlington Circuit?

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by IowanChef, Apr 9, 2010.

1. IowanChef

Thread Starter Active Member

Mar 6, 2010
    I picked up this really interesting but cheap-looking lamp from the thrift store the other day, and basically it's 24 LEDs (8 each, R,G,B) connected to two M74HC595B1 8 bit shift registers and two ULN2003AG Darlington arrays. However, there's one 18 pin DIP chip in the heart of the circuit with no markings whatsoever. The board itself is white and hard to track much of anything on, but I can see a 12mhz crystal with three small ("30") ceramic caps, one bigger electrolytic (100uf), and a three-terminal LM7805 positive voltage regulator.

Any idea what this could be? I'm a complete newb (with persistence!) and have guessed it to perhaps be a PIC of some sort, like maybe a PIC16F88 or the sort? I don't have a lot of things to test it out with, but I DO have a lot of chips. Only thing that matches up just on a "hey, this has 18 pins too!" kind of way and after some Googling is the PIC16F88.

Thoughts? Thanks in advance for any and all help.

Cheers.

2. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    Well, the 12MHz xtal with the cer.caps gives you the clock rate, but good luck figuring out what the uC is, AND how it's programmed. There are many other uC manufacturers besides Microchip.

3. IowanChef

Mar 6, 2010
    Gracias SgtWookie.

I goofed in my initial listing. It's ONE 8 bit shift register, two Darlington arrays, and it looks like the 12mhz oval metal crystal resonator (?) is connected to pins 13 and 14 of whatever this 18 pin thing is that's controlling it. Two per red, green, and blue LEDs on four quadrants of the lamp circuit, and they cross-fade (three push-buttons select various speeds, pause, and power on/off, respectively) to create all the wonderful colors that red, green, and blue LEDs do..

Anyway, thanks again. The search continues..

4. retched

AAC Fanatic!

Dec 5, 2009