Cheap gas again.

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
And tell me who should get the credit for this marvelous state of affairs? I think the responses will be varied an interesting.

Some have suggested it might actually last a long time.

nsaspook

Joined Aug 27, 2009
The greedy oil barons, the scientists, engineers, technicians and all those who work in the petro industry.

tcmtech

Joined Nov 4, 2013
And tell me who should get the credit for this marvelous state of affairs? I think the responses will be varied an interesting.
I do! I fracc ND crude formations for a living and the living is good! :D

GopherT

Joined Nov 23, 2012
I don't agree with tcmtech every day, but when I do, the topic is usually fracking.

A boost in US output has screwed up the OPEC monopoly. Once screwed up, the OPEC countries that plan their state revenue (and income) on a specific oil price suddenly scramble when oil prices fall below the target - they try to make up the lost revenue on volume instead. This causes an even bigger flood of product in the market and a spiraling down in price as each OPEC member try's to under-cut the other members to minimize their deficits. Deficits are terrible for these countries while oil prices drop because they cannot get loans at anything near a reasonable rate - unstable countries/undesirable government policies/falling revenue sources.

Prices might hit $1.50 in early 2015 but rebound somewhere around $2.50 - 2.75 / gallon in the next 18 months as OPEC members and US producers realize that you can't sell at a loss and make it up on volume.

Edit: just today, PUTIN signed the Russian budget for 2015 based on oil revenue estimate planned on $100/barrel (today's prices are $67) - denial is short term solution, an empty bank account makes one face reality eventually.

tcmtech

Joined Nov 4, 2013
Ahhh.....release the bakken!