charging a battery with a bicycle dynamo.

qwerjo

Joined Nov 21, 2008
This is my first time on this website, :)

I have a bottle dynamo connected to my bicycle which produces a voltage of 6 to 25 volts depending on how fast I'm going.
The dynamo is supposedly 5.5 watts but I haven't measured this.
I want to turn this into a constant voltage of 12 volts so I can charge a 12 volt rechargeable battery, and use the battery to power some speakers or my mobile phone.

Any ideas on what I could stick in between the battery and the dynamo would be much appreciated.
I'm not too good with electronics, I know capacitors, resistors and diodes but that's pretty much it. thanks

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008
Hello,

At first you will have to rectify the signal from the dynamo.
(the output of the dynamo is probably not sine-shape).
Then place a buffer capacitor behind it (this is to avoid hum, as you want to use it with an audio application) and regulate the charging current for the battery.
This dependent on the type of battery you are using.

Greetings,
Bertus

Last edited:

qwerjo

Joined Nov 21, 2008
By rectifying the signal, do you mean turn it into DC?
I don't really understand what buffer capacitors do, but won't it just block the circuit when the dynamo produces high voltages of say 20v, so that when I'm going down hill the battery isn't charging.

I have an old li-ion laptop battery but can also get hold of a lead acid battery, which i think will be more appropriate.

mik3

Joined Feb 4, 2008
Because the output voltage of the dynamo is not always greater than 12 V you will need a buck-boost DC-DC converter to regulate the output voltage at 12V. However, before the buck-boost converter you will need a rectifier circuit with a filter, a capacitor filter is enough for most applications.

bertus

Joined Apr 5, 2008

davebee

Joined Oct 22, 2008