charging 12v from 12v but limiting current

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by larry gardner, Aug 26, 2013.

1. larry gardner

Thread Starter Member

Sep 17, 2008
    Let me say I have read a lot in the past on the board but have not been on in a while. I have very little knowledge about circuits but find them very interesting. I have some one that can help me with this project locally after I get the information I need here.

I fly electric RC Planes and want to charge 2 (140AH) deep cycle batteries (parallel) in the back of my work van. I do want to limit the current that they are charged at. Some where around 10 to 20 amps. ( not sure what the best charge rate is for deep cycle batteries. I assume lower is better)

The idea is to have the circuit turned on by a auxiliary only while the van is running.

Last edited: Aug 26, 2013
  2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    I'm confused. I assume you mean you DO want to limit the current? Are these lead-acid batteries?

3. larry gardner

Thread Starter Member

Sep 17, 2008
    sorry I edited that to say "I do"

The batteries are lead acid batteires

4. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    I am assuming you want to use the vans alternator to do this?
    Your vans alternator regulator peaks out at around 14.5v., the regulator maintains this regardless of load down to very low rpm's.
    The alternator current will vary dependent on the condition of the batteries, and any other load that may be on at the time.
    Have you considered just placing them in parallel with the Vans batteries?
    You could get a clamp on ammeter to do a trial with batteries that are in a fairly flat condition.
    Max.

5. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    You need to specify the charging current limit that you need.

Have you measured whether there is a problem? I mean, if you just charged the battery off of your system voltage - like jumping another car's battery - does the current exceed the recommended rate for your battery?