Changings Polarity for a 2 color Momentry Button's LED Color

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by MrSmoofy, Jul 28, 2014.

1. MrSmoofy

Thread Starter Member

Jul 28, 2014
    Backgrounds: I'm completly new to electronics so be gental. I've been a softwre developer for 20 years.

Project: I'm making a fireworks lauching control box.

Question: I have sourced some momentary buttons from china that light up red or green depending on the polarity.

What I'm attempting to do is have the button light up green when unarmed and red when armed.

Lighting up at all means that the "Test current" across the e-match is there (good connection) and when the Key switch is in unarmed the button would light green (when the power switch is on). When the power switch is turned to armed the buttons that had a good connection would turn red (polrity reversed) and can be fired.

Since I'm a completly newbie I'm not sure how I would go about switching polrity to the buttons when the key is moved from armed in a safe way so that there is not a moment where both sides of the LED button connectors are both + or both - at teh same time during it's transition.

Thanks for your help.

2. Alec_t

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 17, 2013
    This sounds like an entry for a Darwin Award competition ;). Given your admitted lack of electronics skills and the potential hazards of fireworks it would be better to leave this to a skilled person. There are plenty of safer electronics projects to cut your teeth on and which we could suggest/ give advice on.

3. MrSmoofy

Thread Starter Member

Jul 28, 2014
    Thanks for not providing any usefull answers to my question I really appreciate it. I can understand your concern for my well being as a completly stranger and assure you that I will not shoot my eye out.

4. inwo

Nov 7, 2013
    More information about the switches you have might inspire more confidence in your ability.

I've noticed that this site has high interest in safety.