ceramic or polyester capacitor

Rich2287

Joined Dec 2, 2009
Hi, I am fairly new to electronics and so I hope this isnt a stupid question but i was wondering what the difference would be using a ceramic capacitor over a polyester capacitor (if any) for audio circuit applications?

Thanks

soda

Joined Dec 7, 2008
To ask a question is never stupid, but it's good because that's how all of us are learning.

I will use a ceramic disk cap for high frequency and polyester for general use.

You must look at the tolerance, the temperature they can handle and the amount of noise they produce.

Go to TONY VAN ROON site and click on the circuits tab, scroll down to capacitor tutorials. http://www.sentex.ca/~mec1995/index.htm

Last edited:

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
If it's a precision or high frequency circuit special attention should be paid to any ceramic caps for their temperature coefficient or temperature-compensation rating. They come in quite a few variations and often chosen to help compensate for drift of other components in the same circuit that also change value with temperature.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ceramic_capacitor#Coding

If you want the value to remain stable choose one rated as NPO (old coding) or COG (new coding)

gootee

Joined Apr 24, 2007
Use polypropylene instead of polyester. Dielectric absorption (voltage "memory" and self-recharging) is much less with polypropylene. WIMA has some nice little red box PP caps, up to 2.2 or 3.3 uF. See mouser.com, for example.

Lower-quality ceramics (not NPO/C0G) in parallel with a small electrolytic are good for bypass caps on IC power pins. Their losses help prevent forming resonant circuits with the inductances of longer DC supply conductors.

Audioguru

Joined Dec 20, 2007
Some ceramic capacitors are "microphonic" and produce noises in high gain audio circuits.
Some ceramic capacitors change their value when the voltage changes which causes low frequency distortion in audio circuits.