cellphone to tinker with

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by jarwulf, Oct 17, 2013.

1. jarwulf

Thread Starter Member

Jul 7, 2013
    I'm a beginner who is very interested in making an oldstyle rotary cellphone. I'm wondering if converting a contemporary cellphone would be the easiest way to do this or maybe, just throwing this out there, working with something like a raspberry pi

If a regular cellphone was easiest I was looking for suggestions on an ideal cellphone to purchase for a conversion. I assume that the oldstyle one piece feature phones with basic text functionality consisting of a simple screen and keypad would be easier than a flip phone or a smartphone or an iphone style device so I'm looking for something like that. I also would like something that has as much info as possible on its internals and how to modify it. Also something that was popular so they'd be easy to buy and cheap to purchase for experimentation.

Thanks.

2. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    Rotary Cell Phone?
    The only portable phone I knew of that was rotary was not Cell technology, but point to point radio transmission?
    The technology of rotary phone is to count a number of pulses on the return of the dial, the cell phone uses tone recognition for each number.
    Max.

3. crutschow

Expert

Mar 14, 2008
    I think we have a little time warp here. ;) There has never been a rotary dial cell phone, only rotary dial land-line phones up until the 1980's or so. To use a rotary dial with a cell phone you would need to convert the number of pulses to the appropriate DTMF frequencies for that number. That could be done with a microprocessor and a DTMF chip. Then you would need to input the DTMF tone to the cell phone to make the call. Sounds like a reasonably complex task.

4. Sensacell

Jun 19, 2012
    Super cool project idea!