Cat Detection Problem

Blainus

Joined Sep 29, 2010
Hi everyone!

I'm a complete beginner with electronics but I have an interesting project because my wife refuses to get a cat flap!

I've got a simple Infra Red detector outside which signals a wireless doorbell indoors when the cat triggers it. That works fine, except she constantly sets it off the whole time she's sat there and the <snip> thing keeps ringing, very annoying and the batteries only last about a fortnight, so...

Q: Is there some kind of switch or relay I can incorporate into the transmitter so that once it's triggered it turns off for X minutes?

Gratefull for any pointers or solutions,
THANKS

Last edited by a moderator:

Blainus

Joined Sep 29, 2010
Yeah thanks a bunch guys, that's a great help!!! Thing is I've got no shotgun and no coyotes. How many volts would I need to fry it?

t06afre

Joined May 11, 2009
New wife perhaps....... But joking aside some sort of silent alarm. You could also lure it in more easy by changing the feeding times.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
If you could come with some way of detecting which way the cat was pointing it would help. A cat sitting down looking out is not wanting in, but a cat with its nose to the door is. Seems like a proximity sensor on the collar might be an answer, maybe along with a pressure pad switch to be sure they are actually in front of the door. Only if the collar is really close to the door by a precision distance (a specific location) would you want to trigger it.

Thing to remember though, the cat wants the door open on general principal, and is probably willing to go through contortions to make it so. Ornery animals, cats, gotta love them.