careers advice

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Adamf001, Jul 12, 2012.

1. Adamf001

Thread Starter Member

Sep 5, 2011
    Hello people of the AAC forum
    first a bit about me, I'm 15 just starting sixthform (2 yrs before Uni) I've been playing around with electronics for a couple of years now and I have grasped a fair amount thanks to you guys...

I'm planning of going into electrical engineering, circuit design, robotics. this sort of field
    well basically I'm not sure in which direction to go in perusing this type of career
    could any of you share how you got into the jobs/ fields you are in now,
    what have been the highs and lows and do you have any future plans?
    what kind of qualifications do you have,

in case you ask I'm going to be studying A-level maths and physics and IT, but plan to do a course in mechanical engineering in the near future.
    Thanks

2. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    Build your strengths in Math and Physics. (But don't ignore proper communication and social skills.) Don't learn by rote. Learn by understanding. Keep asking questions. Have fun.

Adamf001 likes this.
  3. Adamf001

Thread Starter Member

Sep 5, 2011
    Thanks I see what you mean, I'll just keep doing the things I love and see were it takes me, might lean something on the way....

4. JMac3108

Aug 16, 2010
    Adam,

You'll find out what direction you want to go once you get to university and start taking your EE classes.

One piece of advice ... EE curriculum can sometimes be theoretical and can seem far removed from the circuit design that you seem to want to do. Stick with it and don't be discouraged. You'll get through the theoretical stuff and eventually you'll find that it did you some good!