Career advice - when to stand on principle?

Discussion in 'Off-Topic' started by Zazoo, Feb 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zazoo

Thread Starter Member

Jul 27, 2011
    I'm hoping the great people here can offer me some insight, as I've never been put in this position before.

A little background, I graduated from an EE program last May with a minor in Computer Science. I graduated sum cum laude with a 4.0 GPA. I applied to several companies both local and out-of-state. A few were "I'm pretty sure I can get a job here" companies and a few "I'd love to work here" companies.
    I got offers from most of the places I applied to, but end up accepting a position with a local custom automation company that was on my "B" list. Part of this decision was made based on my desire to stay local if possible. Also the work seemed pretty interesting and the people are nice.
    The wage negotiation was a little awkward as the company low-balled me, but I also came in with zero automation experience fresh out of school - so I was willing to budge on my expected starting salary. Anyway, around the time I was hired 2 other people were hired for the same position (three openings.) They came in with prior automation experience so I fully expected they were brought on for more than me – understandable, experience = better pay.