Caravan Battery Charger Resistor.

ss03947

Joined Apr 13, 2014
Hi, I'm a complete noob when it comes to electronics, so decided to search the web for an answer, hence my thread on this forum.

I've recently acquired a caravan which needs a bit work doing to it, & while working on it I've found out that the battery charger doesn't work. A few enquirers advised drilling the pop rivets out of the casing to check the fuse inside, which is OK, but I've noticed a resistor has burnt out. (see photos)

First photo is of the circuit board itself, second a close up of the resistor.

The resistor has R17 marked underneath.

I feel confident in replacing a resistor, problem is I haven't a clue where to get one the same.

Could some member advise me/point me in the right direction, or should I just take it to a computer/television shop.?

Thanks,

SS.

You need a schematic.... where do the traces on the dead resistor go to?
I'd be concerned a fault elsewhere cooked the resistor??
A 20yr old charger.... might be time for a new one in any case.... :)

BillB3857

Joined Feb 28, 2009
Hard to tell from the top picture, but is the large cap opposite the brown and blue wires bulged? If so, it should be replace as well as what ever else is needed to get the unit working.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Seems a bit fancy for a battery charger, by the electronics, at first glance I would have taken it for a 12v/240vac mains convertor?
I am also guessing, as already mentioned, it is not going to be just a 1/2watt resistor!
One with a linear DC supply would probably be much more rugged.
Max.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
I love old technology. It's so flat and spread out that you can actually work on it...but, resistors almost never commit suicide. You are going to find out why this one died before you're done fixing this. Please respond with the chip number of IC3 and that 8 legged chip so we can try to see which design it is.

ss03947

Joined Apr 13, 2014