Car Battery Circuit.

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by AgentSmithers, Jan 15, 2011.

1. AgentSmithers

Thread Starter Active Member

Jan 14, 2011
    Hey Guys, Thankyou for making me feel welcome to the forum, Right now I am a newbie at circuits and I plan to change that very soon.

This Post question is, what is the best way to emulate a car battery on my circuit?

I know that a Car battery is 12V, so does that mean I should take a Dbattery (9v) and use a Parallel Circuit with 2 TrippleA(1.5V) batterys to make the 12 volts, am I missing something, Does AMPERAGE effect the circuits if they are just LED's? DO I need a Bigger Voltage Regulator?

2. PatM

Dec 31, 2010
    You would need a Series circuit NOT Parallel.
    A 9v battery is nothing but a bunch of little 1.5v batteries (smaller than Triple A) in series, in a case.
    Current draw will affect the life of the battery.
    Better to use 8 1.5v cells that are all the same size.
    If you are just trying to light LED's you can do that with just the 9v battery.

Last edited: Jan 15, 2011
  3. AgentSmithers

Jan 14, 2011
    Ah Great! Well If I run my whole model off a breadboard of basing it off of a 9V battery once I hook it up to a car battery done I need to change out certain parts like resisters and voltage regulators?

4. tom66

May 9, 2009
    A car battery is *rarely* 12V.

Instead, during normal operation it usually runs from about 12.5V to 14V. A car battery reading 12V would actually be flat.

The best way to emulate a car battery is with... a car battery.

But these are expensive, so you can get a small 12V ~3Ah SLA battery and test your circuit with it.