Capacitors Types...Nedd Help

messi_tnt

Joined Jul 22, 2011
Hi there,

I am new to the field of electronics and I am trying now to learn how to build a PIC programmer from on of the sites :

http://www.mcuhobby.com/articles.php?article_id=7&rowstart=3

My question is there are 2 types of capacitors used to build this programmer, and as I understood they are metalized film and ceramic capacitors. What is the difference between them and why the auther decided to use one type at some locations and the other one on other locations.

Regards

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Actually, there are three different types used; ceramic, poly metal film, and aluminum electrolytic.
Ceramic caps are generally available in very small values, from fractions of 1pF up to around 0.1uF for large ones. But, ceramic caps can be quite physically large for the higher uF values.

Poly metal film caps are available in more medium ranges, from around 1nF (1,000pF) to several uF. They're usually used for 0.1uF/100nF bypass caps on IC's. You can use ceramics too, if you don't mind the extra real estate used by them.

Aluminum electrolytic caps are used for larger values of capacitance; around 1uF and higher. Aluminum electrolytic caps are small for their value of capacitance, and relatively inexpensive to manufacture. However, they have more "parasitic" properties than the two other cap types mentioned; ie: more inductance and resistance due to the physical size of the device. This is why you often see a small 0.1uF/100nF cap in parallel with a much larger polarized capacitor. The big capacitor takes care of the low frequency transients, and the small cap takes care of the high frequency transients.

The length of the leads on capacitors is important, as even straight wire has inductance. The less inductance, the better - so mount those small caps with the leads as short as possible.

messi_tnt

Joined Jul 22, 2011