Capacitor question

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by riplin, Jul 5, 2010.

1. riplin

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 5, 2010
    Hello community, I'm a total electronics newb and have a quick question. I have a leaking capacitor on one of my computer mobo's and its causing strange lockup issues I believe with the machine. The cap has markings on it that say 6.3v 1800uf. I have some old mobo's lying around and I found one with 6.3v 1500uf. Would it work if i swapped out the 1800 for the 1500 good one?

Thanks

Riplin

2. Jaguarjoe

Apr 7, 2010
    A 1500 uF good capacitor is better than a dead 1800uF unit. Try it and see. If it doesn't work your not out anything and more than likely with the value of these so close to each other, it will work.

3. Potato Pudding

Jun 11, 2010
    It is a part that you could buy new for only a few dollars if you wanted to be more certain it would work.

Keep in mind that you could find cascade failures.

One part that dies tends to stress other parts.

And if you have one bad capacitor you might see more. Look for bulging on any Electro caps.

4. riplin

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 5, 2010
    k thanks.

Yes I'm going to get the proper one at a local electronics store tomorrow. Other caps look ok its just one particular one

Thanks gain for your replies

Riplin

5. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    You're really best off to order electrolytic capacitors from large, high-volume authorized distributors. You want fresh capacitors. If you buy a cap that's been sitting on a shelf for awhile, it may just blow up the first time you apply power.

A 1500uF cap is not a suitable replacement for an 1800uF cap for a computer mobo. The ripple would be increased by 17%, and the temp of the capacitor increased due to the increased ripple current. It might work, but I'll suggest that it will not be as stable or reliable as replacing it with a part that was specified in the original design.

6. studiot

AAC Fanatic!