Capacitor Bank Help.

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by GTeclips, Aug 6, 2012.

1. GTeclips

Thread Starter Member

Feb 18, 2012
    Hello everyone, I'm not sure if "General Electronics Chat" is the right place for this thread, so sorry if that is the case.

I am trying to make a capacitor bank out of x5 35V 1000μf capacitors, but sadly, I'm a noob when it comes to (Well... Really all electronics) capacitors.

I have searched for diagrams on Google, but not much help, or maybe I'm just oblivious. If any of you would help me by perhaps showing me a diagram or something of that nature of a proper capacitor bank, I would be extremely thankful!

Thank you for viewing!

2. praondevou

AAC Fanatic!

Jul 9, 2011
    Not sure if you can call 5x 1000uF call a capacitor "bank". :)

Just connect them in parallel , use short, large diameter wires.

What is it for ?

3. GTeclips

Thread Starter Member

Feb 18, 2012
    OK, thank you.

I'm testing various capacitors on a coil to see what kind of "emp" affect I will get. I realize I will need a lot higher voltage capacitors to get an effective one, but I just want to see if I can get anything out of 'em.

*EDIT* By the way, what voltage of capacitor and how many of them would you recommend for a half decent emp device?
    (Emp device = Device that can derp an old phone from about a foot away.

Last edited: Aug 6, 2012
  4. praondevou

AAC Fanatic!

Jul 9, 2011
    5000uF at 35V (or less) is definitely not enough. Depending on what you want to do with that EMP you would need something like a few mF to a few tens (or hundreds) of mF, at a much higher voltage. Something like a few hundred volts.