Capacitive impedance

fosjoh41

Joined Oct 7, 2013
I am currently studying an electronics course and would very much appreciate guidance on the following question. Calculate capacitive impedance in the following circuit. Capacitor 200uf resistor 2ohm and 50mhz. The circuit is square. Capacitor is at the top, resistor on the right and the hertz reading at the bottom.

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
The very term "capacitive impedance" is a misnomer. The problem is therefore ambiguous because it isn't clear if it is asking for the impedance of the circuit or the capacitive reactance of the circuit.

Unfortunately, different authors, particularly of non-engineering texts but certainly not exclusive to non-engineering texts, are not very careful about the terms they use. So you need to look at the terms as the author this problem comes from and use those (and let us know what they are so that we can help you in a manner consistent with the problem).

And are you really sure that it is 50 millihertz?

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012
I think 50mhz is 50 megahertz not 50 millihertz.
Not necessarily. With a 200μF cap, the reactance at 50mHz is far more realistic than the reactance at 50MHz for anything resembling a real capacitor. I don't have anything like a good feel for this stuff, but I think that the self-resonance frequency of a cap this size is almost certainly going to be well below 1MHz and possibly below 10kHz. Above that, it actually looks more like an inductor.

But a specification of 50mHz is so unusual that, unless it is specifically that low for a reason, there is a good chance that the author was just being sloppy.

fosjoh41

Joined Oct 7, 2013
The question reads as follows: demonstrate how to calculate capacitive impedance using the following circuit. Capacitor is 200uf, resistor is 2M ohm and 50Hz. Does that make sense?

WBahn

Joined Mar 31, 2012