Capacitive Discharge Circuit

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by FX GUY, Sep 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. FX GUY

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 6, 2009
    I'm looking to build two different circuits to interface into the same device Circuit #1 will be the primary circuit and Circuit #2 will be a safety Circuit.

I'm a licensed Special Effects Operator and I'm looking to build a simple controller.

The controller will be used to fire pyrotechnic devices on long runs of zip lines. The controller is hooked up to leads coming from a pyrotechnic device. The controller is armed and a momentary switch (Charging Switch) is pressed to charge the Int. capacitor once charged an LED lights. A second momentary switch is depressed and the capacitor is discharged into the leads attached to the pyrotechnic device.

Circuit #1- I need to be able to charge a 300vdc or so capacitor from a 9 volt battery and be able to tell that it is charged- charge time 2-3 seconds. Then be able to push a momentary switch that will discharge the capacitor into two terminals. Now if after the capacitor is charged and the momentary switch is not depressed that within X time the capacitor will full discharge on its own through a resistor array. The momentary switch must utilize a switching MOSFET to interface with Circuit #2

Now for the hard part.... or fun depending how you look at it!

Circuit #2- Without using a PIC, I would like to be able to build a circuit that will test for resistance and if the resistance is above 400 ohms will turn off the above circuit. I thought that an op-amp-comparator could be used for this circuit.

The reason behind Circuit # 2. This is a safety, so the controller can not be accidently discharged when some might be holding the leads. I know the human body has roughly 1500 ohms so I figured anything above 400 ohms would indicate a problem.

Ok done, any ideas I know that there is allot here but any ideas are very much welcome.