can't calculate the result of LM741 op-amp in negative feedback loop

manaduar

Joined Mar 25, 2014
Hello all,

I previously tried asking for help on a different site and got virtually no answers, so I'm hesitant turning to another forum, but I'm not making any ground on my own so here goes. I hope I find some help here.

the background: I'm going to be reviewing PC power supplies for a web site. To do these reviews I need to be able to put a selectable load from 10% to 100% load, spread across multiple rails and multiple voltages, on power supplies that can reach (and sometimes exceed) 1500W.

I've looked at several options for a load and to buy the pro equipment I'd be looking at $1000's, up to possibly 20k, which I can't come near to affording. So after researching I've decided the best option is to build my own constant current load.....IF I can actually succeed in building it. I may also build multiples of them.

I'm not an electrical engineer so I'm probably missing some basic information but I've spent weeks researching, learning, and experimenting. I'm going to spare all the details of what I'm trying to set up and focus on one part at a time, one question at a time, as the last time I described my setup I got nothing but a lot of "if you're not an EE then you shouldn't be messing with that stuff cause it's over your head" flak and no answers, I also got a lot of, "why bother, just do it this way" type of responses where they spent more time typing to tell me why I shouldn't worry about learning than they would have if they just answered my questions.

Right now, I'm working with op-amps first. The short explanation to my problem is that I'm planning out a simple circuit, calculating the expected results, putting it on a breadboard and testing it, but not getting the calculated results or anywhere near them.

there's 4 components that I'm using here, an LM741 op-amp, various resistors, 9v batteries, and wires.