Can you identify this diode?

Pingu

Joined May 31, 2016
I thought about putting this post in the Automotive section, but thought that it is more of a project question than an automotive question.

My car has variable valve timing that is controlled via four solenoids. Each of the solenoids is protected by a diode. The diode is inside the solid plastic body of a plug connector. The plug is at the front of the engine, in the airflow from the radiator, so may be subject to temperatures around 80-100 deg C.

When I was stripping the plastic connector apart in order to find an open circuit, I damaged one of the diodes. The good diode has no part numbers or markings of any kind on it.

Here is an image of the plug post-Dremelling...

I've been able to measure the approximate forward voltage as 460V...

I'm a mechanical engineer by education and did electrical engineering as part of my degree, but it has taken me several days of Googling to find out that it's a rectifier diode and it looks remarkably like a Vishay BW-type, but there are lots to choose from (and none are 3.6mm dia spheres)...

http://www.vishay.com/product?docid=86049
http://www.vishay.com/docs/49301/49301.pdf

http://www.vishay.com/docs/86100/fundamentals.pdf
I've read the attachment above and I'm confused by "reverse recovery characteristic". I understand what it means, but I don't know how I can reverse engineer it in order to decide the correct diode.

I hope that the short video that I've made shows enough information about the solenoid for someone who knows what they are doing to be able to decide on the correct diode...

Any help is much appreciated
Cheers, Gary

Pingu

Joined May 31, 2016
If these are reverse emf diodes, then 1n4007 should work.
Forward voltage would be around .461v
Max.
Thanks for helping.