Can someone tell me what this is?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by ApexLogic, Apr 21, 2012.

  1. ApexLogic

    Thread Starter New Member

    Apr 21, 2012
    4
    0
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    As the topic title suggests I am trying to find out what is the brand of this component. It is a pot, I'm not sure on the value because it is broken internally and reads 0 ohms for both I/O legs. It was removed from a Jensen VM9312 head unit.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2012
  2. Markd77

    Senior Member

    Sep 7, 2009
    2,803
    594
    Is there a number anywhere on it, eg. 103, 473, etc?
     
  3. samy555

    Active Member

    May 24, 2010
    116
    3
    yes it is a pot.
    try 50 kohm pot of any size
    solider it externally
    if ok purchase a new one
     
  4. KJ6EAD

    Senior Member

    Apr 30, 2011
    1,425
    363
    It doesn't matter who made it. It's generic so measure the dimensions, take it apart and measure the element, then look it up by specification.
     
  5. strantor

    AAC Fanatic!

    Oct 3, 2010
    4,302
    1,988
    Are you sure it's a pot? My head unit uses an encoder. Actually, all the head units in my recent memory have used encoders. If it's an old unit, it might be a pot. Looks like a pot to me, just saying.
     
  6. panic mode

    Senior Member

    Oct 10, 2011
    1,320
    304
    there are only few possibilities, only few components come with shaft: potentiometers, variable capacitors, rotary switches, encoders, rheostats, variacs... some of those are easy to rule out.
     
  7. nerdegutta

    Moderator

    Dec 15, 2009
    2,515
    785
    Check page 5 in the User manual.

    5. AUDIO/LO/DX
    Rotate to adjust the volume. Press and release to enter and/or confirm autio settings. Press and hold to activate the locat (LOC) settings.

    From page 5 in user manual.

    If it's the other knob, you have a different story.
     
  8. ApexLogic

    Thread Starter New Member

    Apr 21, 2012
    4
    0
    Hey sorry for the delay. There are no other markings on the component other than the one pictured in the post above. Here are some pictures that i took of the inside of the component. I can see now that the problem was one of the legs attached to the external pin was bent up. This was causing the binding issues as well as the reason it didn't adjust the volume.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    This would appear to be a rotary encoder, correct?

    Plan B was to take measurements and try to fined a similar profiled component. I assumed this would be more time consuming than asking if anyone as ever seen this particular brand name so i could narrow down search results. Thanks for all the replies!
     
  9. KJ6EAD

    Senior Member

    Apr 30, 2011
    1,425
    363
    It looks like a 15-element incremental mechanical rotary encoder with a switch. You need to measure the square dimensions and shaft diameter and length.
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2012
  10. paulktreg

    Distinguished Member

    Jun 2, 2008
    611
    120
    About the nearest I can get is this but it's worth a punt at $3.18?
     
  11. MBVet05

    New Member

    Jul 21, 2011
    27
    1
    Looks like a pot to me. There are so many replacement pot out there why even mess with it. Look on Digikey for a replacement and call it a day. I'm sure they have something that will work.
     
  12. KJ6EAD

    Senior Member

    Apr 30, 2011
    1,425
    363
  13. panic mode

    Senior Member

    Oct 10, 2011
    1,320
    304
    on the outside, it may have looked like a pot, but once it was open there is nothing to suggest that any more.
     
  14. ApexLogic

    Thread Starter New Member

    Apr 21, 2012
    4
    0
    I would agree. I have measured the base and shaft diameter and length and actually paulktreg's link is almost a direct fit. With a width and length of ~12mm. However on the link he posted the shaft is 6mm longer than the original. I will order a few and attempt to file down the end to the correct height and see if it functions properly.

    Thanks for all the help. I think this one is solved. I will post pictures of the results.
     
  15. KJ6EAD

    Senior Member

    Apr 30, 2011
    1,425
    363
    Check my last post. I've edited it. :) The only difference between the EC11E15244B2 and EC11E1534408 is the shaft detent which is present on the 244 but not on the 344. The EC11E153440D differs from the other 344 only in having a shorter 0.5mm switch travel.
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2012
  16. DenisM

    New Member

    Apr 23, 2012
    20
    0
Loading...