Can someone explain this RC Controller ?

André Ferrato

Joined Apr 5, 2015
Hi, i disassembled the controller from an old RC car i have, i was a really sad day to me because it was a real nice car. My intentions with this are to make another car from scratch. I do not intend to use the parts from this one! All i want is to understand how it works, but i took a look and a few things caught my attention, first, the levers used to control the car use a parallel plate that interacts with the circuit and i never saw that, maybe it's cuz i am new to electronics. Second, i couldn't find the name of the ic on the board to read a little bit about it, and third, help me understand this. I'll attach some images from the controller:

#1 Top View
IMG_20150607_245308639.jpg

#2 Lever View
IMG_20150607_245331681.jpg

#3 Both lever and Circuit View ( The parallel gold plate in the plastic case interacts with the silver part of the circuit )
IMG_20150607_245349188.jpg

#4 Circuit View
IMG_20150607_245401583.jpg

#5 Name of the IC
IMG_20150607_245417764.jpg

Papabravo

Joined Feb 24, 2006
The operations of the IC will probably remain a mystery, because it is not a generic part with a published datasheet. Instead it is probably a custom part with an "in-house" marking. You could try contacting the company, but they will probably ignore you or treat you like a common pirate out to steal their intellectual property. If you want to build a car from scratch you have a long road ahead of you grasshopper. Start with the basic physics of propulsion and maneuverability. Then study vehicle stability and control. Finally material science and fabrication. You'll get there, but not rapidly.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
That appears to be a very old and crude style of controller by modern standards, Unless wanting the experience, it is hardly worth building a TX/RX now when a 6ch 2.4Ghz digital/proportional controller can be had for less than $35.00.
Max.

Last edited:

André Ferrato