Can somebody please help me find the unknown resistor?

Blake Harrison

Joined Nov 29, 2014
I'm new to circuits and electrical principles, I know this is probably quite simple and easy to solve but I'm struggling on the process of how to find the unknown resistor and would really appreciate somebody helping me with the calculations to solve this. Thank you in advance.

10822255_10152863246343750_1774660965_n.jpg

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
What have you done so far to solve the problem? Please show your work so we can understand where you get stuck, your understanding of the circuit and how we can help.

There are some very simple first steps you can take to simplify the diagram. What are two 40Ω resistors in parallel equivalent to? For example…

Please read this, too.

Blake Harrison

Joined Nov 29, 2014
IMG_0399.JPG Thankyou for the quick response. I'v read through the information in the link, sorry if I haven't posted this correctly I will make sure to show my working out and provide more information in any future posts.

I'm unsure whether the working out I have been doing is the correct method but I have attached a photo, trust me there's a lot more screwed up pieces of paper too. I'v just started the electrical principles course and I'm finding it hard to wrap my head around even the most simple methods, that's the reason I'v created an account on this site to try and get somebody else's perspective see if it helps.

The first thing I'v attempted to do is calculate the resistors in parallel which was R1R2 / R1 + R2. Then add the resistors in series R3 + R4.
Then I did V/R=I for each and rewrite the circuit simplified with the new information I have.

Struggling where to go next.

djsfantasi

Joined Apr 11, 2010
Good work... You are very close.

This forum' e-textbook has a chapter on series and parallel circuits.
What does it tell you about the voltage across the 60 Ω branch and the (20+R) Ω branch?