CAN bus termination issue

TheReelMuhcoy

Joined Aug 13, 2012
I am working on a CAN bus using an Axiomatic ECU and an actuator which has a built in CAN controller. When I first wired up the network and components, I was not aware that the a 120ohm termination was required at the Axiomatic ECU. When I opened communication to the bus I was not able to connect to the Axiomatic unit, but I did connect to the actuator controller. It was suggested to me that the controller had a built in termination resistor.

Now I have spliced in a 120ohm resistor between the H&L just past the connector of the Axiomatic ECU, now when I try to open the communication to the bus i get an error and cannot open the network unless I unplug the actuator controller. This is my first time working with CAN and I honestly have no idea what I am doing, but I want and need to learn in order to complete this project, does anyone have any suggestions where to go from here?

As of now I do not have a CAN ground between the Axiomatic ECU and the actuator controller, but I will try that for the heck of it before the end of the weekend.

Thanks everyone!

TheReelMuhcoy

Joined Aug 13, 2012
I just tried tried to ground the CAN, and still come up with the same error. I receive the same error I received when I did not have the Axiomatic ECU terminated properly.

I have read that 60ohm resistors may be used to termination in certain situations, could that be used in the actuator controller? therefore giving me an issue when i use a 120ohm at the other end of the network?

I also just wanted to mention this is roughly a 5 foot run.

Last edited:

JohnInTX

Joined Jun 26, 2012
Assuming you are using a hardwired, non-isolated bus:

120 OHM is pretty common between CANH/L. You shouldn't need 60.