calculation for transistor current mirror circuit

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by kelvinlim, Mar 23, 2011.

1. kelvinlim

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 23, 2011
    i am a newbie in this forum,i need help from others to calculate the current flow in the current mirror circuit.the battery supply is 12V, the transistor used is 2SC1815. the led use is amber colour led.the forward voltage for the led is 2.3V and the full drive current for the led is 25mA
    can anyone teach me how to calculate for I1 and I2 please?

2. Ron H

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 14, 2005
    The mirroring accuracy degrades as you add more output stages, because each one draws base current, but that probably won't be a problem for you. If it is, you can just adjust the Q1 current to compensate if needed.
    Also, this type of current mirror requires tight matching between all the transistors, or your output currents will not be equal. You can minimize the matching errors by adding a resistor in series with each emitter (including Q1). For 25mA, 10Ω resistors should work well.
    With Q1 biased off the 12V battery as shown, your resistor should be
    R1=[(12-0.7)/.025]-10, where 10 is the emitter ballast resistor
    R1=442Ω
    Standard 5% values are 430 and 470. Take your pick.
    The LED currents will be ≈25mA each. Don't forget to add the 10Ω ballast resistors in series with each emitter.

kelvinlim likes this.
  3. kelvinlim

Mar 23, 2011
    Thank you so much for the reply. Actually I already choose the value of R1 used, which is 240 ohm. Due to time limitation, I cannot change the value of the R1 except I have to fabricate another PCB board which will take some time to get it.

Below is my calculation, I am not sure whether it is right or not…

V=I1 * R
    12V-0.7V=I1 *240ohm
    I1= 47.083mA

Theoretically, current of I2 will be same as I1 which is 47.083mA right?
    will the current of I2 same as I1 in my circuit?

Or can i calculate Ic in tis way?

Ib=(5-0.7)/1k=4.3mA;