calculating power mosfet bandwidth

yourownfree

Joined Jul 16, 2008
How can I calculate the bandwidth of a power mosfet? I would like to use them for making rf power amplifiers. I would like to know so I can calculate the frequency that the power starts to drop off. Also would like to know how can I figure out using the specs and dissipation what I might expect to get for output power. I tried using a formula I saw to calculate the bandwidth but I failed to calculate it correctly from the specs I saw. An example would be great, or know where I can read and study up on the subject? I am not a student or in school. I am an older hobbyist as you can see by my profile. I do have a ham radio license.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
You'll have a hard time getting a power MOSFET amplifying signals past a few hundred kHz; it's the total gate charge that's the killer.

bountyhunter

Joined Sep 7, 2009
How can I calculate the bandwidth of a power mosfet? I would like to use them for making rf power amplifiers. I would like to know so I can calculate the frequency that the power starts to drop off. Also would like to know how can I figure out using the specs and dissipation what I might expect to get for output power. I tried using a formula I saw to calculate the bandwidth but I failed to calculate it correctly from the specs I saw. An example would be great, or know where I can read and study up on the subject? I am not a student or in school. I am an older hobbyist as you can see by my profile. I do have a ham radio license.
The manufacturer should spec it. I doubt any calculation will be accurate, you have to measure it.

yourownfree

Joined Jul 16, 2008