calculating needed potentiometer

IdahoMole

Joined Sep 15, 2010
I am making a mixer for a mash tun for all grain beer brewing how ever i need to slow the motor down so as to not make a mess all over the kitchen (again). I am using the electronic controler that came with the treadmill but even the lowest setting is too fast. The motor is a 90vdc 15 amp motor. What size potentiometer do I need and how it that calculated? I would like to be able to control the motor from as slow as a few revolutions a minute and up to full speed (although i will never have to drive it that fast)> thanks for your help. If you need anymore info please ask. (I am an electronic noob).

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
I am making a mixer for a mash tun for all grain beer brewing how ever i need to slow the motor down so as to not make a mess all over the kitchen (again). I am using the electronic controler that came with the treadmill but even the lowest setting is too fast. The motor is a 90vdc 15 amp motor. What size potentiometer do I need and how it that calculated? I would like to be able to control the motor from as slow as a few revolutions a minute and up to full speed (although i will never have to drive it that fast)> thanks for your help. If you need anymore info please ask. (I am an electronic noob).
You wouldn't be talking about a potentiometer, with that size motor you'd be talking industrial rheostat.

You've going to need some way slow it much furhter down and I'll bet you $1 it's already being PWM controlled so the circuit will need to be altered. While you can run two PWM circuits in series the resultant occasional crossing timings can raise heck with all of the electronics involved.

In all honesty I'd think of a mechanical way to reduce the speed.

Jaguarjoe

Joined Apr 7, 2010
If you're looking for a potentiometer to control the motor directly, you'll never find one and it won't too well work anyway.