calculating minimum and maximum resistor resistance

axedrytouch3

Joined May 18, 2011
hi, i'm new to DC circuits, i'm currently taking DC circuit class in college. i know nothing about DC circuits, as of now i'm having trouble solving these stuff on my homework

on my homework they gave an example

22 | Red Red Black Gold | 2 2 0 5%

and it says (5%)(22) = (0.05)(22) = 1.1

max value = 22 +1.1 = 23.1
min value = 22 - 1.1 = 20.9

but it doesn't tell alot since there's not steps or info on what to do first...

so what do i do with these then?
6.8 | blue gray red gold | 6 8 2 5%
100 | red black red gold | 2 0 2 5%
220 | red red brown gold | 2 2 1 5%

if anyone can tell me step by step on what to do i can try to figure out what to do and solve the rest of the problems by myself. thanks in advance =[

Georacer

Joined Nov 25, 2009
The last band tells you about the tolerance of the resistor value. A 5% resistor will have a value that is within a 5% limit of its nominal value.

t_n_k

Joined Mar 6, 2009
I think axedrytouch3 wants to know how to work out the range of values a resistor might have given its nominal value and tolerance.

The reasoning used is as follows

1. Say you have a nominal 22Ω resistor with 5% tolerance.
2. The actual resistor value could be as low as 22Ω - 5% of 22Ω
3. Or the actual resistor value could be as high as 22Ω + 5% of 22Ω
4. Do the calculation to find that 5% of 22Ω is 1.1Ω
5. The actual resistor value could be as low as 22Ω - 1.1Ω = 20.9Ω
6. The actual resistor value could be as high as 22Ω + 1.1Ω = 23.1Ω

A slightly different way to calculate the range is to state that the possible range is from 95% of 22Ω (or 20.9Ω) to 105% of 22Ω (or 23.1Ω)

t_n_k

Joined Mar 6, 2009
This question reminded me of a few subtleties associated with the notion of tolerance.